Fixing Little Hang-Ups By the Dozen

I finally took the plunge yesterday, and committed myself to eating a strictly vegan diet. I have spent the last two weeks building up to this, and I am feeling really good about the switch. I stopped drinking milk a couple of months ago, and the obvious sources of meat and dairy have been almost non-existent in my diet for over a week. The big things are easy to avoid: Milk? Check. Meat? No problemo. Cheese? Easily done! Cookies? …damnit, really?

I had made it part of my daily routine to take a break about 3/4s of the way through my work day. Without fail, I would get myself a moist, delicious  and fresh-baked cookie from the hospital cafeteria. I knew it wasn’t vegan. I knew it would have to go eventually, but I love cookies. It was such a simple pleasure, and I looked forward to it all day. I could eat vegan day-in and day-out, but my cookie ritual stood as a stubborn obstacle on my path.

Then, along came Angi, my girlfriend, to the rescue. She whipped me up a batch of chocolate chip cookies from Isa Chandra Moskowitz’s “Vegan With a Vengeance“. I was still skeptical of vegan baked goods after eating one of the cookies while they were fresh from the oven, but I was pretty sure they were amazing after nearly a half-dozen. With a total time of only half an hour, the recipe produces about three dozen cookies which is way more than I could should eat in an entire week of cookie breaks.

The last obstacle has been eliminated, and I no longer have any lame excuses. I am now eating right, and here are the cookies that helped me do it.

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Servings: 36

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup margarine , at room temp
  • 1 1/4 cups sugar
  • 1 tablespoon molasses
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips (or vegan carob chips)

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Cream the margarine and sugar with a hand mixer until fluffy. Add the molasses and vanilla and incorporate. Add the dry ingredients to this mixture and mix until a dough forms. Fold the chocolate chips into the dough.
  3. Roll dough into 1 inch balls or drop by tablespoons onto ungreased cookie sheets. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes until mildly browned. Allow the cookies to cool on the baking sheets for 5 minutes. Then transfer to cooling racks, cool and enjoy!
2 responses to this post.

  1. Vegan baked goods are out of this world! And they are great “conversion” tools ;-)! Congratulations on taking the full vegan plunge!

    Reply

    • Posted by sgtbob on April 7, 2012 at 8:59 am

      I’m really excited to start trying other vegan baking recipes, but I think these cookies are going to become a staple at my house.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

